

Working in partnership with Eastbourne Homes

Full Council

Minutes of meeting held in Court Room at Eastbourne Town Hall, Grove Road, BN21 4UG on 24 January 2024 at 6.00 pm.

Present:

Councillor Candy Vaughan (Mayor).

Councillors Amanda Morris (Deputy Mayor), Nick Ansell, Kathy Ballard, Colin Belsey, Daniel Butcher, Ali Dehdashty, Peter Diplock, Nigel Goodyear, Stephen Holt, Jane Lamb, Robin Maxted, Anita Mayes, Jim Murray, Hugh Parker, Pat Rodohan, Teri Sayers-Cooper, Alan Shuttleworth, David Small, Robert Smart, Colin Swansborough and Jenny Williams.

Officers in attendance:

Robert Cottrill (Chief Executive), Simon Russell (Head of Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer) and Sarah Lawrence (Committee Team Manager).

41 Notification of apologies for absence.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bannister, di Cara, Collins, Ewbank and Shore.

42 Public Right of Address

There were no public speakers.

43 Honorary Alderman - Barry Taylor

The following motion was proposed by Councillor Smart and seconded by Councillor Lamb:

"That the Council exercises its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972 and confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon the late **Barry Taylor**, who in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 12 August 1993 to 9 May 2023."

Councillors paid tribute to the work that Barry Taylor had done throughout his 30 years of service as a Councillor, to his character and to his work in Meads and in the wider community.

RESOLVED: (Unanimously) That the motion be approved.

Following approval of the motion, Mrs Christine Taylor was presented with the certificate and badge on behalf of her late husband, Barry Taylor.

44 Honorary Alderman - Md. Harun Miah

The following motion was proposed by Councillor Shuttleworth and seconded by Councillor Vaughan:

"That the Council exercises its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972 and confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Md. Harun Miah**, who in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 3 May 2007 to 9 May 2023."

Councillors paid tribute to the work that Md. Harun Miah had done throughout his 16 years of service as a Councillor, to his character and to his work in Langney and in the wider community.

RESOLVED: (Unanimously) That the motion be approved.

Following approval of the motion, Md Harun Miah was presented with a certificate and badge.

45 Date of Next Meeting

It was noted that the next scheduled meeting of Full Council was 21 February 2024 at 6 pm.

The meeting ended at 6.47 pm

Councillor Candy Vaughan (Mayor)